i love this.

yesterday i went for a long run, as it was a saturday. and that’s what i do on saturdays. i go for my long runs. it all makes sense now, hey? so i had to log 5 miles. my dad came with me for the first 2.5 miles and he did a walk/run. whenever he’d stop running, i’d run up ahead a few hundred metres, then run back and then by then he was usually ready to run. if not, he’d keep walking and i’d keep running. we have a great little system.

the fog was magical yesterday. simply magical. this was noon, but the fog was still hanging out in the air in all its glory. if i ran too far ahead of my dad, i’d look back and not be able to see him. so then i’d turn around and run until i could. i love it. on some of the long stretches of road i found myself smiling and thinking, “i LOVE this. i really really do.”

the feeling of putting one foot in front of the other. the practice of breathing steady and consistently. breathing in fresh air. lately on my runs i’ve been listening to hillsong, hillsong united, revolution band, christian city church. i have a tendency to over-spiritualize running but i really feel and KNOW that i can do ANYTHING with jesus. and running is a practical example of that. yes, i can put one foot in front of the other even when i don’t want to, even when it hurts my knee, even when i’d rather be home on the couch, because with Him, all things are possible. when the music builds i run faster and concentrate on moving my legs, and when the music slows down, i think about the words. think about His words and His promises. how can i not run with all my might while listening to music that exalts Him? then i get to the end of my run, i sit on my front steps and i think, yo. this girl just ran 5 miles. what WHAT!!!!! & i smile.

i’m such an happy runner.
i used to laugh at people like me.

2 responses to “i love this.

  1. Scarlett Lillian

    You go girl!! I totally agree about everything you said! It’s such a cool analogy of our life with Jesus!

  2. I just don’t think you can over-spiritualize running… just think how much scripture says about the act in relation to our journey as believers.

    I know that sublime feeling that comes with running for awhile and sometimes I hate that my knees aren’t in the best shape to do so. Sometimes I just crave the feeling because I know how empowering and how liberating it is.

    You go girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

